The End of a City

The End of a City and all it’s people, and the city next door and all over the plains, and all its vegetation, and more.  Much more in these chapters than just the end of a city or two.

Much of what we read today was very disturbing.

Today is all about Genesis Chapters 18-20.  Welcome to Day 5 of Reading the Bible in 365 Days.

So, the Lord came to visit with Abraham and brought 2 angels with him.  Abraham ran out to meet them, bowed down, offered them rest, to wash their feet, and eat.  Sarah and a servant prepared the meal, and while the men/angels ate, they asked where Sarah was.  Abraham told them she was there in the tent.  The Lord said he’d return this time next year and she’d have a son.  Sarah overheard the Lord and laughing to herself and thought, “I’m as old as dirt and so is my hubby, now I’ll have a child?”  God questioned Abraham, “Why did Sarah laugh and question ‘Will I really have a kid now that I’m old?’  Is anything too hard for the Lord?”  Sarah was afraid, so she lied and said, “I didn’t laugh.”  God said, “Oh, yes you did.”

Abraham saw the men/angels on their way and the Lord told him that he was going to Sodom and Gomorrah to see if what they have done is as bad as he’d heard and if it was, he’d destroy the cities.  Abraham pleaded with God and asked if he could find 50 righteous people, would he please spare the city, and God agreed.  45?  Sure.  40?  Yep.  30?  Uh-huh.  20?  Yup.  10?  Even 10, yes.  So, they finished their talk, God left and Abraham went home.

The 2 angels arrived in Sodom in the evening and Lot convinced them to come to his house, eat, wash their feet and spend the night.  They agreed, even though they’d wanted to stay in the square.  Before they went to bed, all the men of the city surrounded the house and demanded Lot bring out the two men so that they could have sex with them.  Lot asked them to leave the men alone, and then he offered up his two virgin daughters, telling them they could do what they wanted with his girls.  (Great dad, huh?  He should have just said, ‘No, you can’t have the men.  You can’t have anyone in my house.  Go away!’).  But the wicked men said, “No, get out of the way.  We will hurt you worse than them.”  They tried to force their way into the house, but the angels grabbed Lot, pulled him inside and shut the door, then blinded the men trying to get in, so they could not find the door.  They told Lot to gather all his family and leave.

Lot tried to get his sons-in-law, pledged to marry his daughters, to go with, explaining why, but they thought he was joking.  (Losers!)  The angels continued to urge Lot to take his family and go, that the city was to be destroyed.  When he hesitated, the men/angels grabbed his hand, his wife’s hand and his daughter’s hands and led them safely out of the city.  One told them to flee, hurry up, don’t look back and don’t stop anywhere on the plain.  Lot negotiated going to a nearby small town, so they agreed but to hurry up because they couldn’t do anything till he got there.  That’s why the town was called Zoar (small city).  Lot reached Zoar and God rained down burning sulfur on Sodom and Gomorrah, but Lot’s wife looked back and she became a pillar of salt.  (She should’ve listened, eh?  Ah, temptation.  It’ll get ya.)

Lot and his daughters left Zoar to live in the mountains.  The older daughter told the younger one, “Our father is old and there are no men around to marry, so we should get our father to drink wine and have sex with him and preserve our family line through him. So, that night, the older daughter did.  The next night, the younger sister did.  They both got preggers and both had sons.  Lot had no idea they’d done that with him.  (He must’ve had a LOT of wine.  Sorry…).  The older one named her son Moab, the father of the Moabites, and the younger named her son Ben-Ammi, father of the Ammonites.

Abraham moved and lived in Gerer and asked Sarah again to say she was his sister.  Abimelech king of Gerar sent for Sarah and took her.  God visited Abimelech in a dream, telling him, “You’re as good as dead because of the woman you’ve taken.  She’s married.”  Abimelech didn’t go near her and being innocent, God spared him, saying return her to her husband, he’s a prophet, he’ll pray for you and you’ll live.  If you don’t return her, you and all your peeps will die.  Abimelech questioned Abraham, “Why have you done this wrong thing to me?”  Abraham explained himself and Abimelech gave sheep, cattle and slaves to Abraham and returned Sarah to him and told him to live anywhere in his land he wanted.  To Sarah, he told her he was giving her “brother” Abraham a thousand shekels of silver.  This is to cover the offense against you before all who are with you; you are completely vindicated.  Then, Abraham prayed to God and God healed Abimelech, his wife and his slave girls so they could have kids again, for the Lord had closed up every womb in Abimelech’s househould because of Abraham’s wife Sarah. 

I don’t quite get that, either.  Why was he punished for what Sarah did?  I get she did it because Abraham told her to.  Could she not speak up and say ‘no, I’m not going to pretend to be your sister and marry this other man?’  Did women never have a voice of their own in these days?  They did what they were told without question?  And I think it’s unfair to punish an innocent man when he didn’t know he did wrong.  She made herself look available.  He and his household should not have been punished.  I think Abraham and Sarah should have been punished.  Just my opinion.  I’m not questioning God’s judgment.  I’m only voicing my confusion over people being wrongly punished.  And I don’t get why not only the one person would be punished, but curse the whole entire household, too?  I guess I just don’t get why.  Seems unjust to me, that’s all.  I’m sure God had his reasons.

Another lovely evening brought to an end.  Sleep well.  *hug*  Oh, and thank the Good Lord for the long, soaking rain!!!!!  😉

C ya tomorrow with Genesis 21 through 23.

Carol & Hallie

About Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.
This entry was posted in Book Study. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The End of a City

  1. Cara Olsen says:

    Carol,

    I was just browsing through some blogs and I caught saw of the darling picture of the little girl and her . . . Well, to be honest, I’m not sure exactly what that adorable little creature she’s holding is, but I loved them both, nonetheless 🙂 Then I read further, to your bio, and loved how you simply, but elegantly, spoke of wanting to be a better person; I believe extraordinary was the word. If my husband weren’t sleeping next to me, I might have said, “Amen!” but instead I said in my mind 🙂 I believe God would ask no less of us than to be exceptional and extraordinary, as He created us to be both!

    I love your thoughts on Genesis . . . We — our church and I — are journeying through the bible chronologically this year, something I have never done, but am enjoying very much. Right now I commiserate with Job each morning, but anticipate God’s glory and mercy in the later chapters to come!

    Looking forward to your posts!
    Blessings,
    Cara

    • Cara, your words made me smile.

      That’s a picture of my daughter and the Southern Flying Squirrel she rescued a year ago. His name is Bug, because when she found him, he was the size of one. You can read more about him in my other blog http://www.adjustingyourfocus.wordpress.com.

      Truly, God gave us these lives not to be lazy, nor mediocre. He wants us to be extraordinary and the best that we can possibly be, to strive to excel and to please him…to live our lives with zeal and excitement. You are so right, He wants nothing less. 😉

      Yes, I feel your pain and commiserate with Job, as well, much lately, but I do find much to be happy about. When things get tough, and they are right now, I focus on all the positives. The most important things in my life. My awesome daughter. My wonderful mother. My delightful friends (and that includes you). My precious fur-babies. We all have good health and are safe. Much to be happy about if we focus on those sorts of things – the only truly important things.

      Thanks so much for your kind words. I do plan to start up with Genesis where we left off very soon.

      *hug*
      Carol 😉

Leave a Reply

