Overcoming the Numbness of Life

Are you stagnating in the rut that is your life? Perhaps you feel so overwhelmed by the stress of it all. You have all of your lists, probably not organized, whether in your mind or on paper or your computer of absolutely everything you must take care of, but you are avoiding it at all costs. I get you. That has actually been me for a long time. It’s also other people that are close to me. I see myself struggling, trying to ignore what it is I need to do, and it hurts me even more to see people I love in this same situation. We put off everything, because we don’t want to think about it.

I understand part of the whys. It’s overwhelming. It’s soooo much stuff, sooo much to do that it hurts my brain to even think about. It stresses my mind and I don’t want to be stressed so I try to forget about what it is I really know I need to do. If I ignore it, it’ll go away, at least for a little while. Time after time, I do this, and no, today’s blog is not regarding the latest book. Sorry, I’m just not there, yet. Lately, I’ve been doing some soul searching and cleaning out the cobwebs of my mind, before it gets totally impossible to see in there, everything becomes clogged up and, well, it’s thick enough in there.

Ya know, I spent quality time reorganizing my livingroom, and putting things where they should go and it made all the difference in my perspective.

I have a long drawn out ongoing to-do list, but I narrowed it down to just the top 3 or 4 things that were most important to me right now, at this moment. Then, I placed those things in order.

If you make the decision to face what you know needs to be done, take action to actually do it, it will then be complete and out of your head, out of your mind, no longer stressing you out every single day of your life – for YEARS!!! I know some of us put those things off for years. Ignoring them does not make them go away. I don’t care how deeply and surely you think you have convinced yourself. Just be easy on yourself and unload that stress. You will be so stinkin’ amazed with yourself and with life once you check that thing off your to-do list.

Think of those 3-4 or 5 things you’ve stressed yourself out about for years, or months, or weeks – what is most important to you right now, as far as those things you would like to check off your list? Put them in order of importance. Like, once you cross that off, you can go on to the next thing, and the next.

Just accomplishing one task can free up your mind and open it up to more possibilities, more opportunities, more creativity. Do you not want to lessen the stress in your life every single day? Get it done and get it off of your plate, so you really won’t have to worry about it anymore. Believe me, more things are going to pop up in your life to fill the void, if the reason for your not accomplishing anything is due to your thinking you’ll have nothing left to do.

You are not alone in how you think about things. I know I sometimes think, “If I get it all done, then it will all be organized and I won’t be needed here anymore. My time will be up. Somehow, everything becomes final.” I know other people who think this way. This way of thinking is not the truth, though. Give up self-sabotage. You and I both deserve better than that. We deserve to break free of those chains that hold us back from living the lives we are meant to live. Get the stuff done so you can be free to enjoy some things you’ve been only dreaming about.

Write that novel you’ve been putting off. Start painting. I know you’ve been dreaming of doing it for years. It’s not too late for you. I know it’s not always fun to face what we know we need to do. Get those taxes done that we’ve been putting off. We know they’re late, yet we don’t care, because we’ve become numb to life. Get that Will done. Settle and close the estate of your late husband’s. How many years has he been gone? I know you don’t want to face it. Maybe you think that getting it done makes it final. He’s gone and not getting this stuff finished — well, it doesn’t keep him alive. It only makes your stress and depression worse. You do deserve to be happy and to unload some or most of your stress. This is stress that you inflict on yourself, because you refuse to get it done. I’m talking to me, too. Get it done now, so you can start enjoying life again tomorrow.

My livingroom looks amazing. It’s welcoming, inviting, warm and has become our favorite room. The rest of the house is clean and organized for the most part. I still have some winter clothes I need to finish packing up in my bedroom, but that’ll be finished this weekend. The next step? Clearing out my office and making that welcoming and inviting. Getting all those papers filed, which I have been working on, little by little. The office looks much better than it did a month ago. You can actually walk through without stepping over stuff. Then, once the office is organized, I will clear the dust off some of my ambitions that have been weighing on my mind for a while, and I’ll be ready!!!!

Are ya with me? What have you been putting off? If you do these 3 or 4 things, what ambition would you like to dust off? Share. I might even send you a prize. Gotta figure out what that prize is. Something befitting your accomplishment of clearing out your mind and dusting off that ambition!! Let me hear from you. And I haven’t forgotten about the next book. It just may take me a little while to get to it. Office first, Ambition second, and I’ll try to squeeze in time for that book/blog. Whether I get to the book this week, or not, I’ll still keep you posted as to my progress on those top 2 tasks.

About Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.
This entry was posted in Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

