Because I Can

Here is the test to find whether your mission on Earth is finished:  If you’re alive, it isn’t.  –Richard Bach

Though no one can go back and make a brand-new start, anyone can start now and make a brand-new ending.  –Carl Bard

Today, we reach the end of a journey with our final Day 30 of One Month To Live – Thirty Days to a No-Regrets Life; a longer journey than I had originally set out for.  Much has transpired in my life over the process of this book study.  Good and bad.  More good than bad.  God has been speaking to me through this book as he has in the 2 books before, but I had not fully listened.  I am making the attempt to be a better listener and making many changes in my heart and in my soul.  My hope for you is that these last 3 books have helped you in different areas of your life and that you’ve made some positive changes and improvements in how you live your life.

Today, OML Day 30 ends this current book with Game On:  Living It Up.

As you have read this last chapter and this post, you are aware your time is not up, as I’m certain that you have many days, weeks, months and years left of living to do.  Whatever amount of time you have left, with each breath you take, you have the power within you to make a difference, to make a positive impact on the lives of others and leave a lasting legacy that lives on long after you have left this place.  It’s up to you what you do with the time and life you have left.  You have it in you to change yourself for the better and to change this world.  You. 

I grew up thinking that I am only one small person, a speck of dust compared to all the humans living on this planet.  How could one speck make a difference?  Let me tell you something.  If I had not lived, so much would be different.  Every single life I’ve walked past would be different.  We were put here for a purpose — to love and to improve lives.  You might think the world would have been better without you.  Can you think of one person in all of those past years that made you a better person for having known them?  Can you think of just one person in your past or your present that are better for having known you? 

I think of my youth and instead of focusing on the tragic experiences that helped form who I am today, I choose to focus more of my attention on those people who made a difference.  Yes, even the bad.  Had I not had an abusive father filled with resentment and hate, I would not have learned how important it was to cherish and build up a child.  For this and many other lessons, I am thankful to my biological father.  For so much of what my mother did, good and bad, I thank her for absolutely everything she did.  She help teach me what kind of person I wanted to be.  

We can learn from those tragedies in our lives.  These experiences are not meant to make us sour.  These are lessons to help us become stronger in character and strength and become better as a result in the end.  We are not to repeat the pattern.  We are to learn from the past so we can make a better future for ourselves and our children, if we ourselves do actually learn how to apply those principles instead of just being lazy and sitting idly by, withering away in the frustrations, resentments and misery of our past.  We can learn from all of our own mistakes as well as those who came before us.  We all need to wake up and decide what kind of lives we really want for ourselves and for our children and their children, because whether you realize it or not, you are shaping the outcome of the future.  Use what you have learned in the past to make a better present and future with how you live your life and raise your children and have a profound effect on the lives of others. 

The world would not be better off without you, nor me.  I can say I’ve made a ton of bad decisions and I’ve hurt a ton of people and I strive to make my life better every single day.  I try to better myself and pray for God to lead me and I try to remember that bitter person I just met may have just been told they have a month to live or their parent, spouse or child just died, or, or, or.  Everyone has a story and there is a reason for everything.  It’s how we react to everything and everyone around us that makes all the difference in this world. 

You do have the power, in just your one little body, to make all the difference in this world, so don’t take your life lightly.  God can do amazing things with just little old you.  No matter your handicap, your age, your gender, your financial state, the color of your skin or nationality, your brains, God can use you. 

I’m not smart.  I just know what works and what doesn’t.  God works.  If you allow him to live in your heart and help you, then you can do good works.  You cannot do it alone.  I don’t care how strong you believe you are.  With God, anything and everything is possible.  Without Him, it’s pointless to even try.  And if you think you have God, sometimes you forget to rely on him and think “I got this” all on your own.  I admit, sometimes I take it out of his hands and I think I can manage on my own.  I am so stinkin’ wrong!  And when you believe you have God and you have failed miserably at something, it’s your choice what to do next.  You can just give up and quit, and that’s not necessarily always a bad thing, as everything we attempt is not meant for us. 

But we can also keep trying until we get it right.  We keep pluggin’ along and if it’s meant to be, then we will be stronger as an end result.  We will persevere and we will win, because we can.  And if it’s meant to be, then we will work at it until it is.  It all depends on how much you want that thing. 

So, I’m taking this time that God has given me and I’m doing something with it.  I am going to make a difference in my own life and make a difference, a positive difference, in the lives of everyone I meet, because I can.

The authors of this book remind us that in order to keep passion alive and thriving, we must be sure to include its 4 key ingredients.  Love, integrity, forgiveness and enthusiasm, for without these 4 things, it truly is a passionless life.

Jesus lived out the four most important principles of the best abundant, good life, fully lived.  He lived passionately.  He loved completely.  He learned humbly.  He left boldly.  You can learn how he did each of these things in your Bible (just a few of these examples can be found in John 10:10, John 13:1, Philippians 2:8, Luke 9:51, Luke 23:34) and in our current book on pages 222-225.  We are meant to live with each of these four principles.

How will you make a difference in your own life and in the lives of every single person you lay your eyes on?  Do you want to make a positive difference?  You really can do great big things with that little life of yours.  Sing it with me now, “This little light of mine–I’m gonna let it shine.  Let it shine.  Let it shine.  Let it shine.”  😉  Love you.  *hug*

-Carol

About Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

