My Driving Got Me Nowhere

When you were born, you were crying, and everyone around you was smiling.  Live your life so that when you die, you will be smiling, and everyone around you will be crying.  –ANONYMOUS

Ok, so I haven’t been slick on posting every day.  I reevaluated my priorities and I have a lot to do to get back on track.  Part of it is to post daily, or at least try.  Life does get in the way at times, which can be a good thing, but I do enjoy blogging, so I am making the choice to do a bit better than I have been lately. 

Today, we are looking at OML Day 26, which is Collisions:  Staying The Course When Your Life Crashes.  It’s actually funny that I would be reading this chapter today, because in the middle and end of the chapter, it’s as if God is whispering, “I asked you to do this and I’m so happy you did it.  Thank you.”  I’ll explain when I get to that point.

It’s not so easy to glue the pieces back together after life’s crashes occur, is it?  Sometimes, it feels downright impossible.  One thing I have learned (and quite frequently I forget) after 42 years of life, nothing is impossible when you have God.  Everyone has access to God.  It’s as simple as letting him drive instead of you always having to be in control.  I admit, I’m a huge control freak.  I think I have to control everything in my life on my own, by myself.  It’s the way I am.  Are you that way, too?  Do you want your life to follow a certain design, a direction of your choosing, or do you let God take the wheel?  Saying it out loud, it sounds a bit scary, don’t you think?  To let God guide everything about your life?  It’s not about what you want.  It’s about what God wants.  Wow, that’s sort of like flying by the seat of your pants, right?  Letting someone else steer and drive you wherever and whenever they choose?  It could be a wild ride if we’d allow Him to do the driving. 

I think we are all control freaks, too scared to let him take the wheel and do all that he wants.  Do you do everything he wants?  What are you scared of?  I know what I’m scared of.  I’m scared of people.  I do not know how to trust.  I have to try to face my fears and go out there and do what he wants if I’m ever going to get where he wants me to be, to better use me.  It’s never too late to get our lives back on track.  Never too late to realign our priorities.  We can stop struggling over control of the steering wheel and allow his strong, wise hands to do the driving.  My problem lately is the fact that I don’t know what he’s up to and I’ve been getting nervous and impatient.  Yeah, I have a huge weakness when it comes to patience.  I couldn’t see where he’s been trying to take me, didn’t know where he was going or how we’d get there, so I freaked out and grabbed the wheel, not trusting, not having faith, but now I know what I must do.

“Obedience starts with trust and ends with trust.”  We trust God to do the driving, but it’s not a passive process.  We are supposed to pay attention and take action along the way.

This morning, I realized I had been ignoring God’s whispers.  I have been angry with him lately and felt he was ignoring me, so not only have I been punishing him, I’ve been punishing myself more.  I sat down at my desk to read the next chapter, which I’ve been putting off, mostly due to not wanting to read anything pertaining to God.  But first, I wanted to write a letter to God, explaining why I’ve been so frustrated, more with myself than him, but directing the blame more at him than myself.  I apologized and examined all the God-whispers I’ve been ignoring, making a list of the whispers and how I will put his plans for me into action, starting today.  I realize he’s not going to give me any further instructions until I do what he’s already asked me to.

At the end of the chapter, there are short lessons under Make It Last for Life.  The main ones for me were:

  1. What’s the greatest barrier to trusting God in your life right now?  What past experiences have left you doubtful, angry, hurt, or disappointed?  Spend some time in prayer, either writing or talking to God about these experiences.  It can be difficult to build trust with Him if you’re not communicating.
  2. Make a list from one to five, and write down the desires of your heart.  Be as honest with yourself as possible.  Spend some time reflecting on each desire and why you long for it.  Commit your list to God, asking for His perspective regarding each item.

I trust you will make this a most fantastical Good Friday and Earth Day.  Make some memories.  Spend some time with God, thanking Him for Jesus.  Spend time celebrating and taking part in protecting our planet.  What will you do today to make God smile?  Love ya!  *hug*

-Carol

About Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

