You are Gifted. You’re a Star!

There lives in each of us a hero awaiting the call to action.  – H. Jackson Brown Jr.

Principle 3:  Learn Humbly.  Today, we are studying OML Day 16:  Star Power – Discovering Who You Were Meant To Be.

300 Sextillion Stars vs. 7 Billion Earthlings

Each of us is but a speck of dust compared to the vastness of the universe and the more than 125 billion galaxies.  So, why then, as small and insignificant as we may seem to ourselves, do we matter so much to God?  Out of all he has created, he loves you the most. God says, “You matter more to me than you will ever know.  You are not small, nor insignificant.  You are my greatest joy, my greatest creation.  You fill my heart with gladness and I believe you can do great things.  I have faith in you.  You need to have faith in yourself, as well.”

In 2010, a study by Yale astronomer Pieter van Dokkum took the number of stars in the universe, which was estimated at 100,000,000,000,000,000,000,000, or 100 sextillion, and tripled it.  That’s a lot of stars!  And God says we, each one of us, are more important and special to him than all of those stars he created.

Robot vs. Heat Seeking Missile

How often do you ask yourself, “What is my purpose?”  “What am I doing here?”  “What, exactly, am I meant to do?”   “Do I have any gifts or talents and if I do, what are they?”  It’s actually not a matter of whether you have gifts or talents.  We each have specific gifts and talents that God created in each of us.  The real question is “what are they?” 

Many of us never seek out what it is about us that makes us special.  We just go through each day doing the same old humdrum thing, scared of trying anything new.  Do you ever just feel like a robot?  You live a very routine existence?  A little too structured?  You may have an untapped talent hidden inside you (the heat) and you’ve (you are the missile) never even tried to shed any light on it.  Let that talent come out to play.  You’ll never know if you were any good if you don’t give yourself a chance.   God didn’t put those wishes, those desires, those dreams inside you expecting you to just ignore them, bury them, and forget about them.  Take a little risk.  What could it hurt?  Be a heat-seeking missile.   

As I go through this life, this Earth existence, I learn more about God, his creations, his wonderful, brilliant imagination, his humor, and his personality, as I also learn more about myself.  I have found some great things about this life that I adore and bring me happiness and peace, and I have found gifts inside of me. 

I’m not, by far, the greatest parent that ever lived, but I’ve done a fairly good job, so far, as Hallie is an amazing, intelligent, hilariously funny, compassionate, loving, beautiful person, so I think parenting is one of my gifts.  I can’t take all the credit.  God made her the way she is.  It’s only my job to guide her, to help her, to set an example, to set boundaries and answer all of her questions and if I don’t know the answer, we search for it together.  She also has her self as credit for who she is.  She has her own thoughts, her inner voice, her conscience, feelings, dreams, curiosities that make her . . . her.

Another gift would be writing.  I’ve loved writing ever since I can remember.  Even before I could read or write, I’d make up songs and stories and sing/tell them to my dolls.  😉  It’s how I express myself.  It’s my voice.  I don’t know if writing is one of my gifts, but it brings me great pleasure, and so I reckon I’ll keep on doing it.

Negative vs. Positive Charge

Do you know who is in charge when you feel shame, guilt, not valuable to or useable by God, you blew it, you blew your chance, you’re not worth much, you failed, you’re not talented, you aren’t spiritual enough, not smart enough, not committed enough, not strong enough?  Sound familiar?  It sure does to me!  Some of you may not believe in Satan.  Well, Satan believes in you.  Moreover, he believes he can control you and lead you to a life of darkness and despair.  Our Enemy tries to trample our confidence, our self-esteem. 

But God says don’t forget who you are, you are my child and I love you and there’s nothing you can’t do, especially when you hold my hand.  Let me lead you.  Listen to me.  You are forgiven.  Stop punishing yourself.  You are worth dying for.  I did that.  You will always be valuable to me.  

Why is it easier to believe the bad stuff?  Why can’t we see ourselves the way God sees us?  Because Satan is working hard on you.  He wants you to focus on the bad stuff.  It’s time to stomp that devil dude out of existence!  Kick him to the curb!  You do not have time for him nor time to listen to what he has to say.  God has other plans for you, better plans.  Time to listen to the one you want to take charge and be in control of your life.  Be led by the winner, the truth.  Be led by love and find who you are truly meant to be.  

Make it a day like no other.  Stomp the devil down and take God’s hand.  Color outside the lines.  Quit worrying about what others think and do what is in your heart, no matter how silly or crazy you think it is.  Share your thoughts and dreams with me, if you want.  I’d love to hear from you.  I’d love to cheer you on.  I know you are full of greatness.  Let the world know how great you are.  There is nothing too small that can’t be gynormously great!  Love you!  *hug*

-Carol

About Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

