Heaven on Earth

Our truest life is when we are in our dreams awake. –Henry David Thoreau

Today, we are looking at OML Day 7, which is Dreamsicle – Thawing Out Your Frozen Dreams.

Our dreams can be compared to a scumptious Dreamsicle.  One of my favorite treats – orange sherbet wrapped around vanilla ice cream on a stick.  Yum!  Our dreams, much like those Dreamsicles, call to us, and once fulfilled, can be more delicious than we can possibly imagine.

At times, we forget about our Dreamsicles and they wind up in the back of the freezer, covered with freezer burn, as our dreams are often buried and put in the back of our minds, often forgotten.  How many of us have put our dreams on ice, for one reason or another?  Life gets in the way and you go about living your life, providing for your family, doing what you have to do to survive, forgetting all about your dream(s).  

To leave this life without regrets, we have to realize our dreams and work on seeing them through.  If we don’t keep trying, we’ll never know how great we can be.  We must practice patience.  Believe me, I really lack in this department, although I did wait 31 years to receive my daughter.  The best things really do come to those who wait.  My life is blessed every day.  She makes me see everything differently.  She makes me want to be a better person.  She’s my main dream, my biggest dream come true. 

I think sometimes what my life would be like without her and I don’t know for sure that I’d even be here.  I was a deeply depressed person before I got pregnant with that little love.  I was a completely different person then than I am now and it’s all because of her, and ultimately, God.  Because of her, my heart opened wider to God and I realized he did, in fact, love me.  I never truly felt his love so completely before. 

My dream come true.  With Hallie, I’ve changed in immeasureable ways.  I learned to forgive because of her, by her teaching by example, and how easy it is for her to forgive others.  I want to be like her when I grow up.  She’s taught me to love on a deeper level, and I’ve allowed God to live in my heart instead of just visit once in a while.

How do you decipher whether the dream is from God or just some idea you came up with on your own?  If it goes against God’s word, then the dream does not come from him.  It can’t be something that you can do alone.  It requires faith and prayer.  It has to be a God thing.  It also needs to make a difference in the lives of others.  It can’t be selfish.  If your dream is to become filthy rich, retire early and not have a care in the world, this is not God’s dream for you.  However, if you wish to make enormous amounts of money and use it to help others, use it in ways to serve God, and retire early to begin a new career for which you feel he’s calling you, then it could quite possibly be God’s dream for you.

If you have a dream in your heart, pursue that dream.  If it’s something you think about all the time and it’s in your soul, the core of your being, God doesn’t want you to just go about your business and ignore it.  Perhaps it’s a calling.  Ignoring your dream is much like ignoring God. 

Feel useless?  Inadequate?  Not strong enough?  No self-confidence?  I have felt these emotions and more.  Those feelings are put there by none other than the devil himself.  God’s job is to put the dream in your heart.  You need faith, prayer, motivation and perseverance to go after your dream – ask for God’s help.  Satan’s job is to take the dream out of your heart, or bury it, burn it, freeze it, wounding you, and making you feel less than you are so that you won’t pursue.  Who are you going to choose to listen to? 

You have this one life.  Don’t you want to live it with purpose?  Pray for God’s power and have faith that he will help you reach for and attain those dreams of yours. 

Give up the doubts, the fear, worry, anxiety, second-guessing, impatience, and frustration.  Go for it!  Now. 

While pursuing, remember God’s timing is not our timing, and with patience comes answered prayers. 

My Blog Block

My dear friend, Leslie A., made this. She's very creative, isn't she?

Abraham was ninety-nine when he finally became a father.  Moses tended sheep for forty years before he became a leader to guide the Jewish people out of slavery in Egypt.  Even Jesus waited thirty years before beginning his ministry.  God makes us wait in order to teach us we need to FROG out (fully rely on God).  We cannot do it without him.  Perhaps once we fully grasp this concept, learn to trust him and realize it’s in his hands, in his time, he will help us attain those dreams in our heart.  I don’t care if you are 80 years old, it’s never too late to go after and grab onto those dreams, because with God, it’s never too late.

Make it a magical, inspired, motivated Wednesday and chase after one of those dreams of yours.  Reach a goal.  Once you achieve a dream, you’ll experience Heaven on Earth.  That’s what my family is – a few slices from Heaven.  Love you guys!  *hug*

-Carol

About Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

