Hanging On For Dear Life?

Security is mostly a superstition.  It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it.  Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure.  Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.  –Helen Keller

Today, we are studying OML Day 6 – Monkey Bars:  Risking Greatness.

Imagine yourself as a 4 or 5-year-old.  You beg your dad to pick you up and put you on the monkey bars.  After hanging there for a while, you want to get down but it’s too far to the ground, so you ask your dad to help you.  Your dad says, “Let go and I’ll catch you.”  Untrusting, because you want to feel your parents arms around you instead of trusting you’ll be caught, you refuse to let go.  Finally, after losing your grip, you let go and your dad catches you.  What a relief! 

This is what we do the majority of the time.  We hang on for control instead of risking faith that everything will be ok and taken care of by God.  We don’t want to take a risk in blind faith, not knowing what the future holds.  We hang on to what is safe, what we know. 

God understands your desire to control every aspect of your life, but he wants something better for you.  It’s ok to want to feel safe, but you must take a risk once in a while.  Step out on that limb (not literally, ok?) in blind faith and know that God will catch you if you fall, or fail.  We fail so much of the time, even when we think we are in control.  So, why not give God a chance to catch us if we fall?  How much worse can it be to let God catch us rather than failing alone?  

I believe we fail mainly for two reasons:  (1) to see if we wanted that thing bad enough to keep trying to go after it or realizing we didn’t want the thing after all, so we quit; or (2) it simply was not meant to be.  It’s hard to figure out which one, huh?  Truly, it is for me.  At what point are you supposed to give up?

I worked in the legal field over 20 years.  Time and time again, I got burned out working for attorneys (although one or two of them were actually cool, believe it or not), and it wasn’t just the attorneys, it was more about feeling empty in my job.  I felt I was doing nothing to help others, and I’ve always had a passion for serving others.  I wanted to help people out there (ya know?  out in the world?).  I wanted to feel passion for what I was doing, as if it made a difference.  I prayed constantly, asking God, “Now I don’t understand why you want me here, but if you want me to stay, I’ll stay, but if you want me to do something else, please send me a sign – a larger sign than just my not being fulfilled in my job.” 

So, I kept working until I, along with about 11 or 12 others, was laid off.  Was that I sign, or what?!  Now, I’ve sent out several résumés to other law firms where I knew they had positions open.  I’ve made several phone calls.  Nothing.  No call backs.  So, see, I took action, but honestly, I don’t know that I want to be in the legal field anymore.  Maybe God is telling me I need to do something else by my not hearing from anyone?  I don’t know.  I’ve also sent out my résumé in other directions and still, nothing.  Although, I’m not giving up, because I do have passion for something and it’s risky, but I’m taking a risk.  

Thank God I still have money in the bank so I can put food on the table, but it’s slowly slipping away, so if I don’t find something within the next couple of months, I suppose I’ll have to look for just whatever I can find, wherever I can find it.  I’m trying to be patient. 

I suppose I didn’t take a risk.  God chose my path for me.  I didn’t leave my job voluntarily.  He told me that I was no longer supposed to be there.  I’m ok with that.  Initially, I was shocked from hearing the news but I wasn’t sad or angry or scared, really.  I was sort of ok with the whole thing.  I heard God’s voice loud and clear and he said that it’s time to do something else.  What is that something else?  I have no idea but I’m open to it.  I’m listening, or I’m trying to listen.  Oh, I have my own ideas, but I’m not turning a deaf ear to endless possibilities and, truly, there are endless possibilities when God is involved in the process.

Are you hanging on for dear life?  Do you have to be a control freak?  I feel your pain.  Really, I do.  But, for once, try to let go and let God catch you.  Take a risk once in a while.  Find out and feel what it really means to live!  If you have never taken a risk in blind faith, you have not lived.

My Blog Block

My dear friend, Leslie A., made this. She's very creative, isn't she?

Make it a faith-filled, risk-taking, wonderful Tuesday.  Seek out your purpose.  I pray the best for you and for your loved ones.   Love you guys!  *hug*

-Carol

About Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

