Are You Getting Enough Oxygen?

My Blog Block

My dear friend, Leslie A., made this. She's very creative, isn't she?

Today, we are reviewing OML Day 5 – Oxygen Mask: Breathing First.

Do you do a lot of flying?  Before every flight, the flight attendants explain safety procedures and, should the need arise, the need to place the oxygen mask over your face first, before you are able to assist someone else.  You can’t help anyone if you are passed out from lack of oxygen.

The same principle is true from a spiritual standpoint.  If you are going to benefit others, help them, relate to them, engage fully with those around you, you must first focus on the betterment of your self.  I try to look at myself as not only trying to nurture my inner-child, but seeing myself as my own child – another person, that I love and appreciate and want the best for.  I look in the mirror and ask myself what I see – on the inside, as well as the outside.  What do I like about myself?  What do I need and want to change about myself? 

Needing and wanting are two very different dynamics.  You might know you need to lose weight but you don’t really want to.  If you did, you’d start working out and stop eating that junk food and overeating.  If you want to lose weight, then you take action and get it done.  I’ve been saying for a while now that I need to . . ., or I want to . . .  Saying “I want to” was a lie.  I didn’t really want to, or I would have done it before now.  Now, I do want to and I’m taking steps, daily, to get the weight off. 

To live an authentic life, no matter how long you have to live, you must take the time to focus and reevaluate how you are living, via spiritual health, physical health, emotionally, relationally.  Once you invest in yourself and get yourself healthy in every area of your life, then you can fully invest in others around you.  Teach by example.  That’s the best way for a child to learn, or for anyone to learn, for that matter.  You live your life as an example for others to follow.  That’s what Jesus did and that’s what we are supposed to do.  Do we?  I know how hard that one is!  It’s hard to live close to the way Jesus did, isn’t it?  Being an example.  Setting an example.  We must strive harder to be this way if we want a better future for ourselves, our children, their children.  Think about it. 

This is your life. Are you who you want to be? –Switchfoot (Love that song! One of my favorite artists of all time!)

How do you want to see yourself?  How do you want your children and friends to see you?  Your children emulate you.  At least mine does.  She’s 11 and I still see her copying my mannerisms, watching me carefully, doing as I’m doing.  It makes me realize more and more that she wants to be like me.  That means I have to better myself and be the best possible self I can be.  It means I need to further my education and go after that degree, and going after my dreams, never giving up.  It means getting physically fit and eating healthier.  It means finally finding a church home instead of just watching church on tv and reading the bible.  

We must realize we aren’t just living for ourselves.  We also should live for others, our children, our family, our friends, because we want to be better for them and do the best for them and want them to also be their best.  We want to cling and depend on God, because he is our biggest fan, not because of what we do, but who we are.  He loves us like no other and we should love him the same.  We want him to be pleased with us and for us to treat ourselves and others with love and tender care.  He wants the best for you.  So you should want what’s best for you, right?

If you had a month to live, that isn’t to say you give up on exercise and eat whatever you want.  You need energy and good health if you are going to get more enjoyment out of your life, no matter how long you have left.  So eat healthy foods, don’t overeat and try to exercise at least 3 times per week, even if it’s just for 15 minutes.  Something is better than nothing.  

And get right with God.  Become a friend to him like he’s always been a friend to you.  You may have been ignoring him, but he’s always been there with you, loving you, waiting for you to notice him.

Try to make things right between you and people in your life that you’ve pushed away.  That means to forgive.  I know this is a particularly difficult principle, as it’s one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do.  Forgive yourself first for past wrongs and stupidity.  Then forgive those who have hurt you.  This isn’t to say you must bond and be close with them.  Forgiveness is a gift you give to yourself more than it is a gift to another.  I didn’t really get that until I truly forgave someone for completely wronging me.  It’s a truly awesome experience to forgive. 

And forgetting doesn’t mean you push it out of your brain.  It means you never rub their nose in it again.  You don’t bring it up again.  It’s forgiven.  It’s done.  Now, move on.  Have you hurt people that you wish you hadn’t?  Do you want to make up with them?  There’s no time like the present.  You may not get tomorrow.  Make the most of and do your best with today.  Do it now.  No, I didn’t say sit there and think about it.  Do it.  Start it.  If you have a letter of forgiveness to write, start it, work on it, get it done.  I’m doing it.  I have 3 people in mind, but forgiving one at a time is all I can muster.  If you need to speak with someone and forgive and reconnect, call them and make plans to have lunch or just meet them somewhere for 5 minutes. 

Deal with your emotions, don’t bury them, like I’m so good at doing.  I’m workin’ on it.  Deal, but don’t let the emotions control you.  Jesus got ticked off.  He cried and laughed.  He faced loneliness, uncertainty, fear and apprehension.  Yet, he prayed consistently and that His Father’s will would be done.  He had the same emotions we did.  However, he did not sin.  Can you imagine such a life?  Never sinning? 

Did you answer the questions under the Make It Count Moments on pages 36 and 38?  These are very helpful questions that can help you face the truth about yourself.  Give each question some deep, introspective thought.  Also, check out the Make It Last for Life lesson on page 39.

I trust you are making it a great Monday.  I know, Mondays can really stink, but you have the potential to MAKE it a great day.  Love ya!  *hug*

-Carol

About Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

