Excuse me, Sir, but do you have the time?

I’m late!  I’m late!  For a very important date! 

Make a date.  With yourself, doing something you love.  And make time, right now, to spend with the people you love most.

I don’t want to get to the end of my life and find that I have just lived the length of it.  I want to have lived the width of it as well.    – Diane Ackerman

You have those days where they seem to drag on forever and you’ll never reach the end, because the seconds drip by like molasses?  And then, you have those that fly by in a blink and you wonder what happened to the day.  If you want to have more meaningful moments and days where you are fully engaged in the present existence of your life, here’s what ya gotta do:

Inventory your life and monitor how you spend your time.  Only then can you see how much of it you are wasting and you can then reallocate how and where you spend it.  Do you spend 3 or more hours in front of the television every night?  Nothing is wrong with having movie night with popcorn and hot cocoa or coke, enjoying the company of your family and/or friends around you.  Just try to find some other activities you can do with each other that’s fun for each of you and keeps you engaged with each other. 

Find something that might bring laughter.  There are tons of board games out there for every family, every age.  A picnic in your own back yard, or even on your livingroom floor!  Just find something ordinary, like dinner, and change it up a little with a picnic blanket on the floor.  Even eating by candlelight is fun, if it’s bright enough to see what you are eating.  We take baths like this sometimes.  Suds in the tub, yummy candles on the side, sultry music flowing in from the other room . . . ah . . .  Now, there’s an idea you can conjure up for your spouse, then meet them with a warm, fluffy towel upon their exiting the tub.  Just a few ideas.  Kids like bubble baths, too.  I’m just sayin’.  😉

On Page 19, try answering the questions on the Make It Count Moment, especially the part on writing down what consumes most of your time each day – break it down.  Such as, if you are at work for 8 hours or longer, jot down exactly what you did, and write down how meaningful it was to you.  Was that time satisfying?

Remember this:  “Time once spent cannot be reclaimed.  Once an hour, minute, or moment is over, it’s gone forever.”  Now, I know a few of you out there are thinking you can’t wait till it’s over.  Some of you wish for death to come early and take you away from all this.  You know who you are.  That used to me, actually, before Hallie came into my life.  If you are miserable every day of your life, you have the power to change things.  Try to make things better.  Try talking to that person or those people you love.  Make plans to do something fun and surprise them.  Change things up.  Be spontaneous.  Do something on the spur of the moment.  Find something that might bring laughter. 

If you had one month to live, what would you do with these people?  What would you do with yourself?  Is there something you miss doing?  Maybe it’s time to get back to that or try something new you’ve never tried but have always wanted to.  Only you can answer these kinds of questions.  Find meaningful ways of spending the time you have left.  You have a month to live. 

Don’t forget to squeeze in some time for rest.  I know there are several of you workaholics out there.  My daddy was one.  Mama is one, too, but she also knows how to relax a bit and just rest, and laugh, and be silly.  She can be pretty funny.  Love that Mama. 

Do some things slow, so you can enjoy every moment, savor every fragrance, every flavor, every color of the sunrise or sunset.  Take in that crisp Winter air as you breathe it in, stepping outside to sit on your front porch swing with your hot cup of coffee to gaze upon the sunrise.  Can you hear the birds waking up?  I can hear them chirping, “Mama!  Bring me my breakfast!  I’m honnnngry!”

Try to do the lessons included at the end of the chapter on Pages 22 and 23 under Make it Last for Life.  Share it, if you like.  I’m interested in hearing from more of you out there.  Remember, if you ask me to not post, I promise I won’t.

My Blog Block

My dear friend, Leslie A., made this. She's very creative, isn't she?

This was Day 3 of OML:  Time Squared – Spending Your Most Valuable Resource.

I hope you guys are making it a splendorific Saturday!  It’s a beautiful day out there.  Mowed the front yards.  Sneezing up a storm!  Ah!  But the front yards look good.  It was just weeds and wildflowers mostly.  I’ll tackle the rest Monday, hopefully before the rain hits.  Love yooze guys!  *hug*

-Carol

About Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

