Make A Change. Take a Risk. Change Your Life!

Today, live passionately.  That’s the first principle. 

Life isn’t measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away. – Anonymous

Somebody should tell us, right at the start of our lives, that we are dying.  Then we might live life to the limit, every minute of every day.  Do it, I say!  Whatever you want to do, do it now!  There are only so many tomorrows.  – Pope Paul VI

OML Day 2:  Roller Coaster – Riding the Big Dipper

Do you see your life more as a safe ride or a trip on an exciting, exhilarating, scary, old, unsafe, take-your-life-in-your-hands-ride of a roller coaster? Are there certain areas of your life that are safe and other areas where you take risks?  Perhaps you’re willing to take risks to move up the ladder at work, but you protect your heart and refuse to take a risk in relationships. 

Wow!  That second part definitely sounds like me.  I’ve worked so hard at building and enforcing those walls – those barriers, keeping everyone (except for maybe 4), at a safe distance.  What do you do when you’ve spent years living this way?  How do you change?  How do you let them in?  What if they hurt you?  These are things I’m working on.  It’s hard to face these questions.  Hard to face the truth about myself and change my habits of guarding my heart 24/7.  It’s a habit I’m trying to work my way out of.  Every single day.

I think we all, or the majority of us, say Someday.  “Someday.  One day.  When.  If.”  Then, we realize we are at the end of our lives and it’s too late.  Someday has come and gone and you have Nodays.  We must start living today.  Don’t put it off.  Don’t put your life off.  Do those things you’ve been wanting to do.  Take those risks. 

As I’ve become unemployed, I’ve been given the free time to take some risks, so I’m going after some things I’ve put off.  I’m putting forth the effort.  I’m risking my pride.  I have always had a fear of failure.  More than that, I’ve had a fear of success.  Make sense?  Not to me.  I mean, ok, sort of.  I don’t want, nor have I ever wanted fame.  Fortune?  Maybe a little.  More like wanting to be comfortable, not rich.  I don’t really care to be rich.  I just don’t want to struggle with paying the bills.  I don’t like to put myself out there.  In public.  In front of people.  😦  Oh, I tremble at the sound of the words, even.  Doing this blog, I’m sort of hiding, sort of not.  I can hide behind my words and not worry about someone seeing or hearing me express myself (I’ve never liked the sound of my voice and I don’t see myself as all that attractive, although I do not feel sorry for myself).  I can say what I have to say and review the comments and emails later.  I’m free to express myself and it feels great and I can be real.  I can be me.  This is my voice.  This is my comfort zone – writing.  Ah!  The written word is a lovely thing!  I don’t do the public speaking thing.  If you’ve read some of my earlier postings about why I dropped out of college, you might understand my feelings on this.

Speaking of risks, are you going to realize that you have to show up for your life and do what you need to do NOW to get where you want to be?  I’m taking risks and some important steps to get where I want to be.  It’s a bit unnerving, but I’m doing it.  I urge you to start something today.  Take a risk today.  Don’t quit your job unless you can afford to.  Just want to say that.  You can take a risk without become irresponsible at the same time.  Nothing is ever going to happen just sitting there, waiting for Someday.  Start living today.

I love where the book references the challenge between David and Goliath and the difference between the basis of reason and basis of faith.  How do you reason?  For me, it would be a bit of both.  However, I do aspire to operate on the basis of faith, like David did.  If a teenage boy can beat a man-giant’s butt, than so can we tackle any obstacle that gets in the way of what we truly want for our lives, no matter how ginormous that giant is.  I’m tired of looking at life from a ground-level perspective!  I want to . . . no – I am going to start looking at life from a God-level perspective.  I want to have . . . no – I AM GOING TO HAVE (Thank you, Coach Bissell!) ridiculous faith. 

My Blog Block

My dear friend, Leslie A., made this. She's very creative, isn't she?

Are ya with me?

Well?  Are ya?

Take a risk.  Make it the most awesomeist Friday of your life!  I look forward to some amazing, awe-inspiring stories from you.  Love you!  *big bear hug*

-Carol

About Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

