Getting Things Done by David Allen

My Blog Block

My dear friend, Leslie A., made this. She's very creative, isn't she?

The Art of Stress-Free Productivity.  This author is nicknamed, “The personal productivity guru.”  But stress free?  I mean, really?  Have you seen my home office?  It ain’t pretty.  In fact, it’s downright disturbing.  I have nightmares about it.  Yes, the superfluous stacks of papers and magazines find their way into my sleep.  Maybe that’s why I don’t get 8 hours anymore?  No, I purposely get up before the rooster crows.   

This is the next book I’d like to review, study, put into a daily action plan and see if this helps me at all.  My purpose is to gain some knowledge, some know-how in great organization techniques.  It’s a national bestseller, so he’s got to be doing something right, eh?

This book is supposedly a “gold mine of insights into strategies for how to have more energy, be more relaxed, and get a lot more accomplished with much less effort.”  Truly?  Well, I’m game!  Who couldn’t use a little more energy, right?  Relaxed?  What’s that?  And get something accomplished?!  Getting anything accomplished would be something new for me.  Maybe I’m being a bit melodramatic, as I do tend to overemphasize at times, so hang in with me. 

Seriously, though.  I’m a mess.  My house is a wreck.  My office is a wreck.  Stacks of paper everywhere.  Stacks of magazines that I swear I’m going through.  I’m not going through those magazines!  At least there’s a lot I know I will be throwing out, which helps with the stress level.  Now, how do I put all the rest of it away?  It’s so overwhelming.  It’s ruining my life!  There’s that drama again.  Ok, I’ll try to stop.

I figured since the 40-day thing worked so well for me last time, I’d try it this time.  I realize the first book (The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren) was set up, already, in a 40-day format.  This GTD book is not.  I had initially set out to do this GTD book in what?  91 days, was it?  I figure 40 days is a good start.  I’m going with it and we’ll see where we wind up. 

I’m finding some determination and I’m hoping I can find a little motivation so I can establish some organization, not just for my home and work but my life.  I’m a little nervous (ok, a lot nervous)  but I’m excited, too, especially if I can finally learn how to organize my life and keep it that way.

Please understand I may scream from time-to-time, and feel the need to express my fears as I truly am an attention-deficit, scatterbrained, procrastinating, clutter-junkie, that comes from a long line of ADD+SPCJs.  No offense, Mama.  😉

At the conclusion of this book, I’ll decide what works and what doesn’t.  What works for me may not work for everyone, as our brains work differently, obviously.  Some people have their house and office and lives in order.  Lucky them.  Some people keep everything neat and tidy and put everything away all the time.  Well, I’ve let everything get out of control and, truthfully, I’d rather not face it at all.  I’d be perfectly fine with never stepping foot in my office again.  I’d like to focus on something else, anything else, so I don’t have to think about all the filing and organizing I need to do.  However, with that said, ignoring it does NOT make it go away.  I don’t care what anybody says.

13 chapters, 3 parts, 40 days or less to complete the book and implement strategies, daily action plan and then, the conclusion. 

My current plan (if you wanna call it a plan):  a 2 page per day planner book that you write your stuff in (to-do’s, calls to make, bills to pay, birthdays and appointments, blah, blah, blah) along with an 8 x 10 projects calendar for the month, so I can see the entire month and what I need to complete each day, what we have going on, etc.  Has this worked for me?  Om, . . . no.  Of course, it doesn’t help when you (#1) don’t bother opening the planner to see what’s inside, (#2) you don’t update your planner every day or even once a week to record your plans, and (#3) you don’t take action. 

I’m the worst when it comes to “pulling a Scarlet.”  You know, Miss Scahlet?  Scarlet O’Hara from Gone with the Wind?  It’s a classic.  *speaking in her Miss Scahlet la-te-da voice*:  “Oh I can’t think about this now! I’ll go crazy if I do! I’ll think about it tomorra.  After all, tomorra is anotha day!”  Yep, that would be me.

Well, now, let us begin reading, shall we?  Let’s see if we can muster up a little motivation and put forth a little (or maybe a lot) of action.  Are you ready?  We begin. . . (you guessed it) . . . tomorra!

Love ya!  *hug*

-Carol

About Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

