PDL Day 38 – Becoming a World-Class Christian

My Blog Block

My dear friend, Leslie A., made this. She's very creative, isn't she?

We can choose to be a world-class Christian or a worldly Christian.  Worldly is being more self-centered – it’s all about “What can God do for me?  How can God bring me happiness?  What do I need from God to make me more comfortable?”  Being world-class means we realize we were put here to serve others.  We were made for a mission.  We wish for God to use us to go out into the world and actively serve people.  He wants to use us to help build his family in heaven.  Nothing is more important and nothing will last longer than our lives in heaven.  It is eternal.  What we do now matters. 

How does one bring someone else to God?  How are we supposed to go out and talk to people about what it means to be a Christian – to believe in Jesus and explain what he did for us?  We are not all speakers.  I’m not a speaker.  I like to write.  I like to type.  This is how I share my heart best, unless I’m talking with a very close family member or furry baby or friend.  Some people do not want to hear the truth, about Jesus, nor anything else, for that matter.  So, how are we supposed to witness?  Mr. Warren further explains.

In the Bible, Jesus told his followers to “go everywhere in the world, and tell the Good News to everyone.”  Back then, all they had for transportation was their feet (and not the best walking shoes, I might add) and slow animals.  Today, it’s a bit easier to go out into the world and spread news (not all of it good, by the way) and we all have the ability to spread the Good News to everyone in every corner of the world, and most of what’s in between.  We have ships, planes, trains and automobiles.  We have buses, bikes, phones and fax machines.  We have snail mail (no offense, you sweet postal workers, you!).  We have the INTERNET!!!  These days, we don’t even have to leave our chair to reach the world!  Amazing, huh?  It really is a small world and it’s shrinking daily.  I love how we can let our fingers do the talking!  My favorite way to speak.

Some of the easiest ways we can spread love, peace and the Good News into the world is by:

  • praying for all the people struggling in the world
  • praying for the war-torn and impoverished countries
  • praying for the unbelievers, that they may learn what it means to have faith in God
  • praying for that stranger you encountered
  • praying for God to show you how you can be used to reach someone and bring them one “step closer to knowing Christ”

The Bible says, “If you ask me, I will give you the nations; all the people on earth will be yours.”  We can go anywhere and reach out to anyone.  “People may refuse our love or reject our message, but they are defenseless against our prayers.”  “If you would like suggestions for praying intelligently for the world and Christian workers, see appendix 2” in The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren.

Have you ever thought of doing mission work?  Going into those far away countries to help them, to work for your church or a mission?  There is no real good excuse to not do this.  I’ve thought about doing this for a long time and I got lost in the trap of thinking I had nothing to offer.  “If you are willing, there is always a way to do it, and there are agencies that will help you.  Some common excuses are:

  • “I only speak English.”  This is actually an advantage in many countries where millions of people want to learn English and are eager to practice it.
  • “I don’t have anything to offer.”  (This has been me.)  Yes, you do.  Every ability and experience in your shape can be used somewhere.
  • “I’m too old (or too young).”  Most mission agencies have age-appropriate short-term projects.”

Hmmm…  I foresee a mission trip coming up for me and my family, come Summer.  😉  Oh, and we are checking out a new church (new to us) on Sunday.  Please pray for us that we each find a good fit there.  I’d really appreciate it.  We all would.

Many of us think we have to wait for a “calling” from God, or a supernatural feeling or experience.  Many of us have ignored his call, as he has called every single one of his people (his believers) to fulfill these five purposes:  “to worship, to fellowship, to grow like Christ, to serve, and to be on mission with God in the world.”  He wants to use all of us.

We all should sit down and “seriously pray and ask God what he wants from you in the years ahead.  Untold thousands of resident missionaries are desperately needed at this critical point in history, when so many doors are opening wide like never before.”

“If you want to be like Jesus, you must have a heart for the whole world.  You can’t be satisfied with just your family and friends coming to Christ.  There are over 6 billion people on earth, and Jesus wants all his lost children found.”

Another world-class chapter!  What is your opinion of this book?  I’m anxious to hear your thoughts on this book, on this chapter, earlier chapters we’ve already discussed.  Anybody out there?  I know many of you are scared to post, because you don’t want your name out there.  I’ve received several comments that people asked me not to post, and I’m ok with that.  Just let me know what you think about the book, about the blog, about anything, how you see things, whatever.  I’m hear to listen and relate, too; not just do all the talking (or typing, rather).

Make it a wacky Wednesday, in a good way.  Make someone smile today.  Do something great.  We all have the capability for greatness!  Even if it’s washing dishes, you can be the best dish washer there ever was!  Do that thing with the best of your ability and effort and then, you are great!

Are y’all ready to begin the ‘organizing your life book,’ Getting Things Done by David Allen?  Starts in a couple of days.  If there is a book y’all would rather study together, answer my poll, below.  Love ya!  *hug*

-Carol

About Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

