PDL Day 30 – Shaped for Serving God

My Blog Block

My dear friend, Leslie A., made this. She's very creative, isn't she?

Good mornin’.  How’d ya sleep?  Well, I hope.  It’s not fun to wake up to an alarm or flying squirrel running at warp speed in his “silent?” hamster wheel, but the nice part of getting up is that I’m alive (for 1) and I get to go make my coffee (2) and read the next chapter to a great book and discuss it with you guys (that’s 3), so it’s gonna be a good morning.  Doing this thing every morning really motivates me to get out of that warm, cozy bed.  I’m passionate about it.  And that hamster wheel used to actually be silent.  “Bug” (because when he came to bunk with us, he was about the size of a bug) was so leetle in the beginning that we didn’t hear the wheel turn when he was in it, but the dude is such a healthy eater, he’s turned into quite the chunk.  😉  So, we can definitely hear the wheel turn, now, with that added weight.  He does love his milk replacement formula and his pecans, etc.

I so enjoyed this chapter.  This chapter made me feel passionate.  I suppose because I’ve spent my life wondering what gift or gifts I had.  I spent my entire life trying to find that thing I love and what I’m good at.  I have finally found 2 or 3 of those.  Being Hallie’s mom would be number 1.  I’m passionate about kids.  When it comes to talking with kids, I’m not fearful.  I can talk in front of a class for hours and allow them to ask me questions.  I wonder why I can’t do that with adults.  I love writing, typing, cooking (when I have time), and I love reading this book and talking with you guys about it and sharing what’s in my heart, through this blog.  It makes me smile.  What things are you passionate about?  What makes you smile?

“You are the way you are because you were made for a specific ministry.  You are a custom-designed, one-of-a-kind, original masterpiece.  God deliberately shaped and formed you to serve him in a way that makes your ministry unique.  He carefully mixed the DNA cocktail that created you.” 

As Ethel Waters said, “God doesn’t make junk.” 

Every single thing that has happened in your life has happened with reason.  “God uses all of it to mold you for your ministry to others and shape you for your service to him.”  I finally got that one day and knowing this helped me realize that I had the childhood I did, for a reason.  It formed me into the person I am today, the mother, the daughter, the friend.  We all experience things in our lives that harm us, injure our spirit, break our heart, bend our will and/or strengthen it.  Things happen to us that we cannot explain, we feel is unfair, that we have no control over.  That’s not completely true, though.  We do have control over the outcome.  What we choose to do with that experience, how we choose to handle it and use it for our benefit and the benefit of others, can actually better our lives and honor God at the same time.  You can endure abuse and neglect as a child and grow up feeling unloved, ignored and unworthy of anything good in your life.  You can use that.  You can use it for soooo many things.  All of those things can strengthen you, can teach you about life, about people (good and bad, strong and weak), and they can teach you about yourself.  People make mistakes, or what I choose to call learned life lessons (I don’t regret my mistakes, or mistakes of others – because I’ve learned from them – they formed me).  We have all made mistakes (you decide if they are learned life lessons).  You can learn how to forgive these people.  Will you repeat the pattern with your spouse and/or your children or will you use what you’ve learned and be better because of it? 

You can use it to tell yourself, “I will never treat my child like that.”  A child is to be cherished and loved and celebrated every single day.  A child needs to be disciplined and taught right from wrong and how to live a healthy, fulfilling, laugh-filled life.  A child is to be encouraged and told what is special and great about them.  They are to be hugged and smooched on and tickled and talked to about the good and bad things that happen in life, so they can be better prepared for what’s out there, waiting for them.  They should experience opportunity to find things they enjoy and are good at and to stick with for at least a season, to give it an honest chance. 

My biggest passion is parenting my child.  Am I an expert on it?  No.  Am I the best or perfect at it?  Most definitely not.  I do the best I can and I try to improve my parenting skills every day.  I also believe you cannot parent two different children in the same fashion.  Just as every person is different, every parenting strategy should be different for each child.  What works for one doesn’t always work for another. 

“God never wastes anything.  He would not give you abilities, interests, talents, gifts, personality, and life experiences unless he intended to use them for his glory.  By identifying and understanding these factors you can discovery God’s will for your life.”

We are a combo package of several different factors.  Mr. Warren explains five of those (there are more).  They are Spiritual gifts, Heart, Abilities, Personality and Experience, or SHAPE.

Shape –

“Because God loves variety and he wants us to be special, no single gift is given to everyone.  Also, no individual receives all the gifts.  We must use our gifts to teach us to love and depend on each other.  Our gifts are to be shared.  We use our gifts to benefit others.  Have you taken the time to discover your spiritual gifts?  An unopened gift is worthless.”  This is another passion of mine.  I would love to help others discover their gifts. 

Heart –

“The Bible uses the term heart to describe the bundle of desires, hopes, interests, ambitions, dreams, and affections you have.  Your heart represents the source of all your motivations — what you love to do and what you care about most.  Your heart reveals the real you — what you truly are, not what others think you are or what circumstances force you to be.  Your heart determines why you say the things you do, why you feel the way you do, and why you act the way you do.”

Our hearts race “when we think about the subjects, activities, or circumstances that interest us.  We instinctively care about some things and not about others.  These are clues to where you should be serving.”

Your passion is another word for heart – those subjects you are passionate about.  Some things do not interest you in the least and you perhaps think they should.  There is a reason certain things interest you and others bore you to tears.  “These reveal the nature of your heart.” 

You may have completely different passions or aspirations than anyone else in your family.  Where did these passions come from?  From God.  Don’t go out and do that career that your parents choose for you.  You were given your own heart and you should follow your own God-given passions to do what brings you the most joy in life.  What your parents choose for you may not be what’s best for you.  If you hate sports and you have no interest in them, whatsoever, you need to try to explain to them that’s not meant for you.  Your heart will tell you what you want to try.

I could go on and on with this chapter.  So many good points to this gift thing, but alas, time is getting away from me, as I wander through all these words, tripping over them, and typing like there is no work today.  But, there is work.  Jolly good.  Happy to have a job.  It pays the bills.  If you’d like to hear more about gifts and this chapter, drop me a comment and I’ll do a two-parter and finish it tonight or tomorrow sometime.  Love this subject.

This is Day 30 of The Purpose Driven Life and this book goes through Day 40.  The next book review/book study/daily action plan will be Getting Things Done by David Allen.  If you’d like to go through this together, you have 10 days to get the book.  You can usually find a pretty good deal on a new or used book on Amazon.com.  😉 

I have lost my mind and signed up to do a 5K in a month and a half.  I begin training for it today – exercising, eating healthier and losing weight in 6 weeks.  I needed to join something that would force me to work at it – a nearby goal to shoot for.  Could it be I finally found some motivation for getting my rear in gear?  I guess this would be a different blog or a different book.  I’d like to do a diet and/or fitness book review/study/daily action plan one day soon.  That will get some motivation going.  Let me know if you want to hear of my progress.  

Make it a terrifical Tuesday!  Love you guys!  *hug*

-Carol

About Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

