PDL Day 24 – Transformed by Truth

My Blog Block

My dear friend, Leslie A., made this. She's very creative, isn't she?

The Bible says, “Through the Word we are put together and shaped up for the tasks God has for us.”

“God’s Word is unlike any other word.  It is alive.”  Jesus said, “The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life.”  When God speaks, things change.”

We are supposed to consider God’s Word as essential to our life as the food we eat.  We are supposed to gobble it up.  The Bible tells us that we should read God’s Word daily in order to live the lives we are meant to live. 

Not just read, Mr. Warren reminds us, but “receive it, read it, research it, remember it, and reflect on it.”

Mr. Warren also says, “Many of our troubles occur because we base our choices on unreliable authorities:  culture (“everyone is doing it”), tradition (“we’ve always done it”), reason (“it seemed logical”), or emotion (“it just felt right”).  All four of these are flawed by the Fall.  What we need is a perfect standard that will never lead us in the wrong direction.  Only God’s Word meets that need.”  I don’t know about you, but I have certainly fallen into the culture and emotion categories, many times in the past.  I still fall into the emotion category, at times.

Did you know if we read our Bible for just 15 minutes a day, we can completely read through it in one year?  Have you completely read through your Bible?  I have not.  I search for things.  When Hallie and I have had a Bible study, we search for specific topics – we skip around the Bible.  “A simple tool that is helpful for reading through all of the Bible is a daily Bible reading plan.”  Mr. Warren offers a copy of his personal Bible reading plan in appendix 2.  There are also various free Bible reading plans online.  Just do a search for Bible reading plan or read Bible in one year.  I’m actually thinking of reading the Bible cover to cover and doing the Bible study on this blog daily.  Let me know if you’d be interested in doing that with me by leaving a comment or answering the Poll on Day 1’s post. 

I may do this along with another book study.  I believe the next book I’ll be studying is “Getting Things Done” (The Art of Stress-Free Productivity) by David Allen.  Not sure how long that book study will last.  I may decide after the first chapter.  There are 13 Chapters and I may go through each chapter during one week, which would be 91 days.  It just depends on how many applications there are for each chapter, I suppose.  If you have some ideas of what books you’d like for us to study together, please let me know.  I’m excited about choosing a particular fitness and/or diet book (working out daily and eating healthier/less) and a cookbook (cooking something new every day).  😉  FUN!!

Anywho, back to the current book:

“Receiving, reading, researching, remembering, and reflecting on the Word are all useless if we fail to put them into practice.  . . . Without implementation, all our Bible studies are worthless.  . . . Jesus also pointed out that God’s blessing comes from obeying the truth, not just knowing it.  He said, “Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.”

“The best way to become a “doer of the Word” is to always write out an action step as a result of your reading or studying or reflecting on God’s Word.  Develop the habit of writing down exactly what you intend to do.  This action step should be personal (involving you), practical (something you can do), and provable (with a deadline to do it).  Every application will involve either your relationship to God, your relationship to others, or your personal character.”

“What has God already told you to do in his Word that you haven’t started doing yet?  Then write down a few action statements that will help you act on what you know.  You might tell a friend who can hold you accountable.”  Well, I think I’ll go make me a list.  😉

See my new name?  Carols by Daylight.  Ha!  One of my best chums, Kristie, came up with this.  Clever, huh? 

Is it really Wednesday?  Happy hump day, you guys!  Y’all go out and make it an awesome day.  Make it better than your average day.  Love ya!  *hug*

About Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

