PDL Day 17 – A Place To Belong

My Blog Block
My dear friend, Leslie A., made this. She’s very creative, isn’t she?

“Even in the perfect, sinless environment of Eden, God said, “It is not good for man to be alone.”  We are created for community, fashioned for fellowship, and formed for a family, and none of us can fulfill God’s purposes by ourselves.”

“Following Christ includes belonging, not just believing.  We are members of his Body–the church.”
“The church is a body, not a building; an organism, not an organization.”
This chapter is discussing the importance of being a member of a local church.  Mr. Warren discusses the difference between being a member and being an attender.  The difference is “commitment.”  “Attenders are spectators from the sidelines; members get involved in the ministry.  Attenders are consumers; members are contributors.  Attenders want the benefits of a church without sharing the responsibility.  They are like couples who want to live together without committing to a marriage.”
I get what Mr. Warren is saying.  I have many issues with going to the building called church (personal things that I have experienced – I’ll explain later if you ask, and one is partly explained below).  I believe I’m surrounded with believers in Christ.  I worship with my family, friends, co-workers, even strangers at the supermarket.  To me, church is wherever you are, ministering, sharing the love of Jesus, helping and serving others to please God/Jesus.  To me, church is not the building.
I do want to say that I understand the importance of belonging to a church, being involved with the church, and serving in the church, not simply going.
I need to read my Bible more about the building called church and the sort of church I attend, which is free of the building. 
How do you feel about church?  What do you think about going to the building called church?  I do find there are many benefits to attending. 
It’s hard for me to get past the hypocrites, the gossip that goes on in church, certain rituals that freak me out in some churches, the pushy people telling me we need to be in church on Sunday.  There’s that rebellion thing again. 
It’s not for the fact that I wasn’t raised in church.  When I got married and became pregnant with Hallie, I joined a church.  We went there for 2 years.  We went to Sunday School.  We were there every Sunday.  We participated.  We served.  My dad died and not one person from my Sunday School class came to the visitation, called me, sent a card – nothing.  I cannot express the pain this caused me.  Am I resentful?  Perhaps.  I have many issues, more than this, that I deal with when it comes to attending the building called church. 
I feel that I can surround myself with Christ-minded people elsewhere and have “church” anywhere, not just in the one building.  I do not recommend this for everyone.  I do realize I need to learn to forgive these people and move on. 
The good thing is that many or maybe all the members of my mother’s Sunday School class (when we were members of that specific church) came to visitation for her, called her, sent her cards, and brought her food.  I’m pleased about that.
Thoughts?  I am sure I’m going to get many mixed feelings on this one.  
Make it an awesome Wednesday, you guys!  How can I make God smile today?  I’ll be on the lookout on how I can serve someone – help someone out.  What will you do to make God smile today? 
Time to go get ready for work.  Love y’all!  *hug*
About Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to PDL Day 17 – A Place To Belong

  1. Suzanne F. says:

    I understand how you felt when your dad died about people not coming. That happened to me when my parents were sick. I realized then that I wasn’t in the church I thought I was so we searched for the right church. It took a few months and we knew when we attended the first service. I am so glad we did that search so we knew how blessed we were. I am in a church now that loves each other. It’s a huge church and some people said you’ll get lost and no one will know you. We’ve found quite the opposite has happened. We became involved with the kids ministry and joined a great Lifegroup class (our church calls Sunday school Lifegroups because they are about our lives). We run into people everywhere, from the beach to the grocery store that we know. And, most importantly, they seem genuinely happy to visit with you wherever you are. Keep searching for the “right” church for you. I know it’s out there.

Leave a Reply

