PDL Day 11 – Becoming Best Friends With God

Believe it or not, God wishes, he longs to be your best friend.  For some (and I didn’t always know or understand this truth), this is hard to wrap your mind around.  When you don’t know God, you might think that he just wishes to be your ruler, your rule-maker.  Who wants to follow rules?  When someone sets rules for your life, just as a mother or father might (not all of them do), many of us choose to rebel.  Same thing we do with God.  It’s not just that he set up these rules for us to live by to rule us.  These are more of a blueprint for our lives – an instruction manual to not just learn to live a better life, a life with direction, to honor God, but these were set up for us to help us, to guide us.  The Bible was set up to help us learn how to know who God actually is, his thoughts, his love and it teaches us parts of his history, our history, but more importantly, opens up a portal to him, so that we can have a direct link to all he has to offer us – love, peace, comfort, joy, friendship, adoration, laughter.  He wants to give us all that he has to give. 

Think about the person you love most in this world – how much you might love your child or children, your mother, your spouse, your best friend.  You want to give that person or those people all that you have to offer, all that you are.  You want them to know you and love you.  God wants the same kind of relationship with you.  He wants to give you all that he has to offer and he wants the same from you.  He wants to be your best friend – period.  Many of you might question this.  It’s human nature to question.  It might actually not be ok to question, as I learn to understand the Bible – we just believe and do as he suggests and not ever question.  It’s hard to do.  I feel ya.  Totally.  At the same time, when we do as he suggests and just believe he knows best, it’s so freeing.  This said by an extremely independent, willful, stubborn woman!  But it is a freedom and I wish I would have gotten this in my head so many years ago.  I would have lived a much free-er, much more relaxed way of life.  To leave it all in God’s hands – WOW!  It just takes it all off of you, ya know? 

No need to worry.  God’s got your back.

I used to worry ALL THE TIME.  About everything.  If there was something to worry about, I’d find a way to worry about it. 

When I was little, after my biological father left us, I worried constantly that my mother would die or leave us somehow.  I already felt so alone and worried that I would be all alone.  I’d have no one.  I loved my mom (still do)  😉  and I worried constantly that I’d lose her.  I’d even cry at night, at the thought of losing her. 

After Hallie was born, I worried for years that something bad would happen to her.  I worried constantly and this went on and on for years.  I reached a point in my life when I realized if I prayed (all that is, is simply asking God for something, letting him know what you need or want, letting him know the desires of your heart) and truly believed that he’d do what it was that I needed (which is called faith, by the way), then there was no more need for worry.  When you worry, you do not have faith.  When you worry, you are not depending on God.  Believe me, I know how nearly impossible it is to NOT worry.  It’s a practice – a daily practice – that you have to eventually learn.  After much practice (just like learning to play an instrument or training your body and mind for a martial arts tournament), you learn how to depend on him, have faith and quit worrying.  You pray, you have faith, that’s it.  It’s such a release and relief to not have to worry about my daughter.  About my mom.  I’m even learning how to quit worrying so much about my future, about my life.  God has it under control.  He’s a pretty cool dude, that way.

If you know anything about your Bible (No, I don’t know nearly enough about mine, but I’m learning), you learn that God had some close friends on this earth.  Adam and Eve – until they screwed up; and boy, does that make me angry.  This is another story…trying to stay focused here; ok?  Mr. Warren speaks of many friends of God.  “Moses and Abraham.  David, Job, Enoch and Noah.”  He spoke to many.  He was great friends with many.  As your best friend tells you secrets, God wants to share his secrets with you.  He wants to be your best friend.  You do not have to be in church for a meeting with God.  You do not have to have your meditation time or quiet time, alone time or whatever you might call it, to have a meeting with God.  You can “approach God anytime.”  This is possible because of what Jesus did.  You can have an ongoing, open-ended conversation with him all through the day, every day, with every task that you perform:  “shopping, driving, working, or performing any other everyday tasks.”  “No place is any closer to God than the place where you are right now.”

When you pray, “just be sure that your motive is to honor God, not control him.”  This is an important point.

Praying and constant conversation with him is one way to have a relationship/friendship with God.  Another is through continual meditation.  Mr. Warren speaks of this on Page 102.   You cannot be God’s friend without knowing what he says, what he has provided for our lives.  The Bible and learning how to read it, how to understand it – this teaches us to know God better.  If your Bible is too far above your head, there are so many tools, such as Mr. Warren’s book, “The Purpose Driven Life,” that will help you to understand God and what he teaches in the Bible.  This is an easy to use, easy to understand, daily lesson plan to putting the Bible to use in your life.  Access God.  I’m not saying, fully rely on Mr. Warren’s book.  You need to rely on the Bible, since it is the main instruction book for our lives – the one God had instructed man to prepare for us.  That said, there are many useful tools out there in those Christian bookstores and Christian or religious sections of your regular bookstore that will help you understand and put the Bible to use, in a more user-friendly sort of way.

“Prayer lets you speak to God; meditation lets God speak to you.  Both are essential to becoming a friend of God.”  Well said, Mr. Warren!

It’s Friday Eve!  Yea!  Looking so forward to that 3-day weekend.  Isn’t it nice to have free time, not just to catch up on washing and cleaning and performing the tasks for daily living, but to have more quality time to play with your babies and your furbabies and your mom and spend time with a friend? 

Y’all go out there today and MAKE it great!  Share a smile.  Lend a hand.  Do your best.  Try to remember to do at least one thing today that will make God smile, or even laugh!  You are capable of greatness!  You can do great things.  I don’t care what they say about you.  I know different and God does too.  Yes, I’m talking to you.  Love ya!  😉

About Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

