Why I Started This Particular Blog

Some of my friends have asked me how I got started blogging.  How did I come up with this particular idea? 

I’ve been blogging since about 2008 – personal blogs, on the Blogger or Blogspot website.  I wanted to try out WordPress.  I like them both – both are very user friendly.  It seems that WordPress might have more to offer and had a better tutorial as to covering much more than just the basics of setting up your space/place/blog.  Anyway, I like them both.

The idea?  My best chum asked me what I wanted for Christmas.  I couldn’t think of anything much except the book, “The Purpose Driven Life” and the newest Chris Tomlin cd.  After receiving this book, along with the accompanying journal (I think there might be 2 or 3 different versions in appearance, but are worded the same), I laid it down for a week – being the holidays and all.  Things were chaotic!

My daughter LOVES to read.  I remember pre-Hallie, I enjoyed reading when I had the time.  Motherhood happened and, pretty much the majority of what I read now is books that she and I can read together – you know, Junie B. Jones books, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Dork Diaries, Skippyjon Jones (I don’t care how old you are – you are never too old to read these books), most anything related to animals, especially horses.  She reads a little, I read a little – we take turns.  It’s fun to read this way, because you can hear how well your child is reading and how they’ve improved over the years, but also the laughter is pretty great when the book is so hilarious!  Some of these books really tickle our funny bones and when you read Junie B., ya have to laugh, and – ‘oh my goodness’ – Skippyjon – in a moi moi chihuahua voice, it’s pretty silly and everyone laughs.

Well, she’s 11 now and reads larger books and in silence.  I usually am cooking or cleaning or washing, or…, or…

I was thinkin’ to myself, “Self, you used to really enjoy reading when you had the time.  Time?  What’s that?  I ain’t got no stinkin’ time!  Well, if you’d quit sleeping so much, get up just a little bit earlier, you could MAKE the time.  It just depends on how important it is to you.”  Yes, I argue with myself quite frequently.  There’s always a debate club going on in there.

So, I did.  I got up at…..om…, a bit earlier than normal.  I started to read the intro to The Purpose Driven Life and had an epiphany!  I need to share this!  What an inspiration!  How can I do this?  Get a book club together – Nah!  No time for all that.  I need to do something that will bring people together, get people to read, get me to read, get people motivated to change their life, to get motivated to change my life, and do all this while not taking any quality time away from Hallie and our daily routines.  A blog!

I had those other blogs but nothing major, although I’m happy to hear my blog entry on forgiveness helped a couple of different people, or 3, because it helped me to talk about it.  I wanted to try out WordPress, so I went to their website at http://www.wordpress.com and ran through their tutorial and VOILA!  A new blog.  Well, maybe not VOILA!  Because I had to go though about 20 names before I came up with ‘becomemoreme’.  I started with ‘Becoming’ and then several others, and wound up with this one.  Reason for everything…

So, then I decided this would be the first book, and then I thought of others that inspired me, jotted those down, and decided to make it a part of my daily routine.  Get up, get coffee, sit down, read the chapter, journal about the chapter, blog about the chapter and how I can relate.  Perhaps others can relate.  We are all different and interpret what we read differently and figured this would be a good way to share with each other.  With that said, if you ever want to share an opinion, a thought, how you view the chapter, if you think I said something bad or wrong and need to be whipped or you didn’t agree, please, I welcome you to share.  However, if someone is profane, that part will be edited or not published.  If you want to share and don’t want it published to the blog, please let me know that, as well.

Questions?

😉

About Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I Started This Particular Blog

  1. missaannissa says:

    Your post made me smile. I love how you said you could MAKE the time if it was really important to you. My biggest pet peeve is when people say they don’t have the time for something because it’s an excuse, I have a hard time tolerating excuses. I always say, there are 24 hours in a day, if you really want something you’ll prioritize and find time. I smiled when I read you saying the same thing 🙂

    I also laughed when you said, “Well, maybe not VOILA! Because I had to go though about 20 names before I came up with ‘becomemoreme’,” getting a username at wordpress was like finding a very small, yellow needle in a haystack!

    Thank you for the smiles!

    • Miss Nissa,

      Well, your post made me smile, too! You and I are in the same boat when it comes to that pet peeve. Unfortunately, it used to be my excuse until one day I realized I can MAKE the time, depending on the importance. I wish more people would see that they could do the same. As dense as I can be at times, and I finally get it – I think there is hope for just about everyone…eventually. 😉 Took me about 42 years (why is it I still feel ’bout 20), but hey, still alive and kickin’ and got much more kickin’ around to do.

      I laughed at you, too. Love that, “like finding a very small, yellow needle in a haystack!” Ha! So true! You totally get me!

      Thank you for the smiles, as well. 😉

Leave a Reply

