PDL Day 6 – Life Is A Temporary Assignment

Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be.  Remind me that my days are numbered, and that my life is fleeing away.  – Psalm 39:4 (NLT)

Have you ever had such a long week, you think you’ll never make it through to the weekend?  Just making it through the day can be such a struggle.  You watch the hours on the clock go by, minute by minute and you want to moan in agony, “Will this day ever hurry up?!”  God knows I have!  I have so many of these days, those weeks. 

Reading this chapter reminds me that my existence here is a blink compared to our eternity in heaven.  THAT is a really long time – in heaven.  Think about that lonnnnng day you had this past week.  Then, think about the length of the past year.  Did it go slowly for you?  Or speed by in a blink? 

When I was little, I thought my birthday would never get here; Summer took forever to get here, and Christmas – even longer.  Now that I’m a bit older and have an 11 year old, I look at the years pass by and they seem like a blink. 

When we get to heaven, we will look back on our life on earth and as Mr. Rick Warren says, “You will not be in heaven two seconds before you cry out, “Why did I place so much importance on things that were so temporary?  What was I thinking?  Why did I waste so much time, energy, and concern on what wasn’t going to last?” 

We sometimes see our lives move along at a snail’s pace.  Other times, it speeds by like a wild horse, running like the wind.  You may ask yourself what to do with those moments.  Make the most of them, I say.  I need to do that, myself. 

I have many awesome moments, especially with my daughter and my mother – they are pretty awesome people.  Such joy and laughter they bring, but alas, I cannot spend every moment with him, unfortunately. 

I have to work a job that sometimes I’m not pleased with but am very thankful for.  At times, I’ve asked myself why am I even in this place?  What am I doing with my life?  Why do I work every day doing something I feel is not really benefitting others?  How am I helping to make a contribution?  To make life better for others?  Do I make a difference?  You have no idea how many times I have asked myself these questions.  Do you know what God told me?  No, he doesn’t speak in words to me.  No, I’m not crazy (much) and think he talks to me.  But, in other ways, he does speak to me and I’m trying very hard to learn how to listen.  I can be pretty dense when it comes to signs or hints.  I can be pretty slow.  When you feel your heart telling you, “Do that.  Don’t do that.  That’s a great idea!  Ah, that’s a good thing you are about to do.”  Those are God’s whispers.  When you receive a warning, a shock, what you think is a coincidence, those can be signs from God.  Some are huge signs.  You have to discern what is God and what isn’t.  I’m still trying to learn how to listen. 

One thing he has shown me is why I work where I do.  It’s not about the job I’m doing.  It’s not about making the world a better place.  It’s about the lives I’m surrounded with.  Those people I work with – some I like, some I’m not fond of but try to like anyway – I’m there because of them.  We affect each other.  We need each other.  We can change each other’s lives, each other’s perceptions, change how we deal with these things, these problems.  Just being there and listening to someone can help not only that person we are listening to, but listening can help us.  How they see life may change how we view it ourselves, and vice versa.  Sometimes, you are placed in someone’s life, even if it’s just for a moment, a minute of your life, to change them or you, in a very profound way.  At times, even if you don’t realize it, God is using you for something that other person needs to hear, or needs to say.  Sometimes, someone is at their last moment before a breaking point and God can use you to save them from falling, with one hug from you or 3 minutes of conversation.  Think about it.  Every minute that you are here, doing whatever it is you are doing, you have the ability to channel God and make a huge impact in not only your own life but in the lives of every person you come in contact with. 

This has been a revelation for me.  I’ve been struggling and still struggle with face-to-face interaction.  I don’t trust well.  I don’t relate (out loud) well.  I’m sure this stems from my childhood and that’s another story, but I work on this really hard.  I’m trying to share a little more, love a little more, maybe not trust (this is especially difficult for me) but open myself up a little more to people and not be so closed off (again, a daily struggle), but I know with practice, I will improve.

This chapter covers some other really important points and I’d like to cover them maybe a bit more in a later post, later today.  Right now, we have to go get ready for a game, so I’ll be posting another one later day.

Love ya and see ya later!  Make it an awesome day!!  Go make a difference, even if just for a second or two.

About Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

