PDL Day 6 (Continued)

The Bible says, “Friends, this world is not your home, so don’t make yourselves cozy in it.  Don’t indulge your ego at the expense of your soul.”  I love this. 

We all look for ways to make ourselves a little more comfortable, don’t we?  We want that bigger, nicer, more spacious house with the walk-in closets.  Ah!  The jacuzzi is nice.  How ’bout that swimming pool?  I’ll take it!  Sure, it sounds nice, doesn’t it?  Sounds good to me.  What about that hotrod – that fancy shmancy car – the babe magnet, you might call it?  I’ll stick with my mom car – I’m slick – even if it does need a little fixing up.  I’ll even stick with my leetle old house that used to be my grandparents’ home.  It needs a bit of work but it’s like an old slipper, ya know?  Comfy.  Cozy.  If I had money, would I have more things?  Better things?  I’ve never had money, so I cannot honestly answer that question.  I’m sure I would have some really fun shopping experiences.  First, I would (ok, let me be honest here) jump up and down, screaming like a banshee.  Then, hopefully, I would put it in the bank as quickly as I could get there to get it out of my hot, little hands and into a safe place – again, OUT OF MY HANDS (hence, not safe).  Let me just say that my child is better at saving money than I am.  I can’t really think of any certain thing I’m tied to, only people.  I just pray that there is chocolate in heaven.  Oh, and coffee.  And all our furry babies.  Just joking, by the way – sort of.  No, really.

Do you have anything you are especially tied to on earth?  

I love how Mr. Warren says, “It is a fatal mistake to assume that God’s goal for your life is material prosperity or popular success, as the world defines it.  The abundant life has nothing to do with material abundance, and faithfulness to God does not guarantee success in a career or even in ministry.  Never focus on temporary crowns.”

Do you get that your life here on earth is only but for a short while?  If you realized this life is a test and how extremely limited your time is on this planet, would you change anything about how you live your life?

Please let me know what you think about his book.  This blog is only my perception.  I’m anxious to hear someone else’s thoughts on the chapters, thus far.  If you wish to share and don’t want me to publish your comment, just say so and I promise I will never publish what you wrote.

Y’all have a lovely evening, sleep well and restfully.  We’ll chat some more tomorrow.  Love you guys!  😉

About Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

