PDL Day 5 – Seeing Life From God’s View

Mr. Warren states, “The way you see your life shapes your life.”  I’ve heard this and read this many times.  I know it to be a true statement.  Funny how knowing something can’t seem to make you change.  If I had more confidence in my myself, how much more could I achieve in my life?  If I believed in my myself more, how much more could I serve/help others?

How do I picture life?  What image(s) comes to mind?  Many of those same images spoken of in this chapter would fit how I picture life, depending on the day.  The best picture, I suppose, for my life, is that of a journey.  I see a long winding path stretched out before me as far as I can see and there’s no end in sight at this point, and as I walk a while, I realize I’ve passed over several hard, cold roads, filled with potholes, sharp bumps, breaks and cracks, several speed bumps, and lots of stop signs (some for which I did not bother stopping).  I was sore, I was beat, with my aching back and swollen feet, covered in blisters, burned by the sun.  It’s a new day and I find myself on a different path.  A path that’s covered by soothing, green grass.  Its much softer under my feet.  I am healing as I walk this much smoother road.  I found a Forgotten Old Hat that now shades me from the sun.  As the sun slowly ascends from behind the trees, the cool green grass, wet from condensation, heals and comforts my battered feet.  I see ahead where the path takes routes in many directions and they look unsure but interesting… 

This image of my life is my metaphor, Mr. Warren says.  “An unspoken life metaphor influences your life more than you realize.”  

How do you see yourself and your life?  What images come into your mind?  What is the metaphor for your life?  I’m very interested to hear if you are willing to share.

Character is built and revealed by tests, and all of life is a test.  We are always being tested.  How we react to people, problems, success, conflict, absolutely everything – it’s a test from God – even the simplest of actions, such as holding the elevator, bidding someone a good morning, or when you’re polite toward a stranger.

“God withdrew from Hezekiah in order to test him and to see what was really in his heart.”  Have you ever felt God was ignoring you?  He wasn’t listening?  He doesn’t care?  He’s testing you.  Does this anger you, or make you feel resentful?  At times, do you feel he left you alone – forgot about you?  He would never!  He’s only testing you.  In those times, (I know how difficult it is) try to remember it’s only a test.  

In basic training for the Air Force, the training instructors are screaming at you to see how well you can take it, to take orders, to follow those orders.  It is to make or break you.  It’s a test, a small test in my estimation compared to those tests of God, but some people cannot even bear the misery of being tested in basic training, to be screamed at in your face.  I knew going in that it was only a test, a mind game.  If you know it’s a test, you realize it for what it is.  It helps you deal so much easier.  Does it make life easier to know that everything is a test?  I can say at this moment in time, it’s helpful to hear and deep down, I know it’s a test but when those occurrences in life that we don’t appreciate and come at unexpected times – at the time they are happening, you are blinded by your emotions sometimes and you are not seeing the deeper, bigger picture – this is a test – this is only a test.  Think before you react.  Easier said than done – this I know, all too well.

“When you understand that life is a test, you realize that nothing is insignificant in your life.  Some tests seem overwhelming while others you don’t even notice.”

The Bible says, “God keeps his promise, and he will not allow you to be tested beyond your power to remain firm; at the time you are put to the test, he will give you the strength to endure it, and so provide you with a way out.”

“Life is a test and a trust.  What has happened to me recently that I now realize was a test from God?  What are the greatest trusts God has entrusted to me?”

Those who are trusted with something valuable must show they are worthy of that trust. – 1 Corinthians 4:2 NCV

At the end of your earth life, you’ll be graded for these many tests and trusts and honored, depending on how well you handled all God gifted to you. 

Even how you manage your money is a test. 

“Unless you are faithful in small matters, you won’t be faithful in large ones.”  -Luke 16:10a (NLT)

What do you think of this book, so far?  How do you relate?  Do you have a story you’d like to share?  We’d love to hear it!  Don’t forget, if you get a chance, to vote in the poll on the post from Day 1 (I believe) as to future book studies. 

Y’all go out there and make it an awesome, AWESOME, inspired Friday.  I mean, IT’S FRIDAY!  Woo-hooo!  😉 

Love you!

About Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help, Self-improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

