Day 1 – The Purpose Driven Life

Mr. Warren says, “It all starts with God.  It’s not about you.” 

The Bible says, “Self-help is no help at all.  Self-sacrifice is the way, my way, to finding yourself, your true self.”

Wow!  At first, while reading this chapter, I felt a bit anxious, as though I was totally confused with my purpose not being all about me, my happiness, my family, my dreams and ambitions; I mean, with it being My Life and all.  Don’t misunderstand, I don’t really think it’s All About Me.  I’m far from spoiled and I’m not completely self-serving, nor shallow.

By the time I had finished the chapter, I felt a sort of relief – more than an ah-ha moment – more than ‘oh, I finally get it.’  I felt relieved.

I need to remind myself daily to let go and leave it all in God’s hands.  I need to quit planning my future so intently, as if all I have planned is actually going to happen, in my time and in my way.  That’s not saying I’ll stop making plans altogether.  Still good to make some plans, just keep an open mind that God has his own plans that may not coincide with my own. 

I am here for him.  He knows what his plans are for me, no matter what else I think, so I’ll just go ahead, grab onto the tail of his robe and hang on for the wild ride.   😉

I’ve always tried to give life and its purpose my own definitions.  Everyone or most have their own interpretation, I am certain.  I do believe I’ve asked God many times what my purpose is.  I know, in his own way, he’s been trying to tell me and perhaps I’m so closed-minded or unobservant or just plain blind, I haven’t noticed, seen or heard his answer(s). 

I admit, since my daughter’s birth eleven years ago, I’ve felt she was my purpose in life – to give birth to her, raise her, love her and have her teach me what love and forgiveness and what life really means.  I say that, because she has taught me way more about love and forgiveness than I’ve taught her.  I love experiencing life through her eyes and she’s teaching me by example.  I watch her forgive so easily.  So, how can I not forgive?  If she is my purpose, that’s enough for me.  If my purpose is something more, I’m ok with that, too.  She and my mother – they are my mashed potatoes.  Everything else is gravy.

I’m anxious to hear from other readers and journalers out there.  How did you react to the first chapter?  Did you have a revelation?  I’d like to hear your spin on things.  I look forward to hearing from you.

Hope you have an awesome day, even if it is Monday.

About Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.
This entry was posted in Body, Mind and Soul, Book Study, Books, Self-help and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

